Class, Nation and Socialism – The Red Paper 2014

Published today: Class, Nation and Socialism – The Red Paper 2014

red paper ISBN 978-1-905-86668-7
Glasgow Caledonian University Archives
Available by post from Scottish Centre for Wo Based Learning, Glasgow Caledonian University, Cowcaddens Road, Glasgow G4 0BA £11.00 including postage payable to ‘The Red Paper Collective’.
Also available in Waterstone’s

“This book is such an important contribution to renewing a crisis-ridden left. The outcome of the current debate in Scottish politics has clear ramifications in Britain and elsewhere.”
Owen Jones

This book is not only of importance in Scotland, it is vital reading for anyone in the UK who seeks social justice and the transformation of our society.

It is the product of two years of discussion, research and campaigning by the Red Paper Collective.

A group that is more interested in the politics of class than the politics of nationalism and in social and economic change rather than constitutional change. Made up of trade unionists, academics and politics activists; they have sought to provide a labour movement alternative to the sterile nationalist v unionist debate around the referendum and explore the issues they consider to have been neglected.

For example, they question whether the Scottish Parliament has made use of the powers it currently has for the benefit of working people; they explore where power really lies, and how it can be put in the hands of working people and whether the Scottish Parliament should enjoy enhanced powers, which would both enable a challenge to the growing scandals of poverty and inequality while still retaining the historic link with working people across the UK.

The Red Paper Collective argue that the real problems facing people in Scotland is not to be found in a flag, a border or even a list of powers in Edinburgh and London, they have challenged the main players to make clear why they want more powers and what they will do the powers they have.

Pauline Bryan and Tommy Kane

Stephen Boyd
Katy Clark MP
Chik Collins
David Conway
Matthew Crighton
Jackson Cullinane
Neil Findlay MSP
Rozanne Foyer
John Foster
James Gillies
Lynn Henderson
Muir Houston
Richard Leonard
Kevin Lindsay
Stephen Low
Alan Mackinnon
Vince Mills
Dave Moxham
Gordon Munro
David Shaw
Eric Shaw
Stephen Smellie
Dave Watson


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s